Book Review

Terror

Terror

By Crea Reitan

Standalone

Polyromance | Paranormal | Horror | Mythology

There are beings in this world that are the embodiment of fear itself – we call them Terrors.

Already an outcast shunned beyond the edge of town, I’m regularly ridiculed for my ungainly appearance. In this time of darkness, I simply do what is necessary to survive—like inviting in strangers who come knocking.

Which is what happened with The Unwanted—a Terror so cruel that if you turn him away, he will rip out your eyes before eating your heart. My act of kindness has entrenched me into an even darker world of monsters like no other. It’s made all the more terrifying because I don’t understand the language the Terrors speak.

As the Order of Ipsom launches a campaign to end the Terrors, the world turns medieval as fear grips the land. Fires burn the forests, screams fill the air, all while the Guardians try to kill the unkillable.

But I’m not immortal. And I might just become collateral damage.

Amazon

Crea has gone full monster in Terror, her standalone monster romance. This has all the steam of a polyromance but it’s also steeped in bloody horror, then add in a bunch of lesser know mythology/folklore and you get this amazingly unique book.

My heart goes out to Voe, she’s a unique mfc. After a terrible accident left Voe with horrible scarring all over her body she has been shunned and mistreated ever since. She tries not to let their viciousness affect her. Still, Voe has a kind soul and is a good human being still willing to help those who would help her. Still, no matter her usefulness, Voe is truly alone in the world. I’m so happy that she finds guys, no matter how unique they might be, that cherish everything about her. She’s not alone anymore.

The Terrors are human at all and reading from their perspectives was interesting. There’s humor and sass there. Each terror is different they go after different human aspects and have different personalities. Each one of the Terrors falls for Voe and is completely devoted to her. I found them changing over the story in the most subtlest ways. The guys worshiped Voe and I loved it, she deserved happiness after all the heartache. One last thing. Chapter twenty-eight sorta snuck up on me and short-circuited my brain. That is all.

The thing you should know is, I don’t do horror. I’m a wimp and proud of it. A few things have slipped through the cracks and watching the TV series Supernatural has helped a lot and I know what you’re thinking but early Supernatural was scary af to a person who didn’t watch any kind of horror. I also don’t read horror, I read one book and a novella that was horror light and I freaked the F out. That being said I enjoyed this book.

I first heard of the Eldredge Terrors in the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina so I had a hint about what was going on but not much. I enjoyed the mythology, it was so rare and the way that Crea presented them was unique. She gave a good amount of detail and good examples of every terror, making understanding them easier. This story is all about humanity and its corruption. Basically, it’s karma come due but also there was the feel-good part of it. Voe, who after her accident has been shunned and mistreated by every human she’s come across has found acceptance, even love with monsters. It’s not about looks because the monsters in this are true monsters and Voe has so many scares, it’s about the connection and they all have finally found that.

Enough with the feels, let’s get to the crazy that Crea is so good at. There is the Order of Ipsom which is a cult of mean bastards who don’t actually do anything useful but hey everybody needs a villain and surprisingly they fill that role for a lot of “people”. However, there are also animals that go on the attack, the trees rise up and attack, and let’s not forget about the zombies that, you guessed it, attack. I did mention that this book is categorized in the horror genre, right? I bet the sheer about of murder scenes is shocking even for horror and there’s an awful amount of blood. Crea went full horror movie with this.

Terror is absolutely one of the steamiest, most horrific, confusing, heartfelt, and weirdest things I have ever read. Crea inspired all the feels and honesty I don’t know what to do with myself. After finishing Terror everything was just a haze. So many arms, eyes, tentacles, tongues, and limbs. It was a lot but it worked. Once again Crea surprises readers with drive-by plot twists right at the end and it was great. This story was just so unique and unexpected, I got out of my comfort zone and found that I really enjoyed a little Terror.

Leave a comment