Book Review

It’s An Brand New Game

VGames Fresh From The Grave

V Games: Fresh From The Grave

by Caroline Peckham

V Games Trilogy #3

Young Adult, Horror, Thriller, Urban Fantasy

Selena Grey has faced death and won. Freedom awaits so long as she can let go of the last thing that ties her to the island where the V Games were held. But despite the fact surviving has always been her priority, suddenly, she finds herself torn between her head and her heart.
Meanwhile, the Helsings are about to host a brand new game on the Isle of Lidelse where blood and money rule above all else. But when Selena finds out a devastating truth that puts her loyalty to the test, will she find the courage to go on? Or will she retreat from a life she never wanted, even if that means giving up the one person her heart beats for?

Goodreads

Note: I received and e-arc from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Fresh From The Grave is the second book in the Vampire Games Trilogy and it was so good, it was even better than the first book.
Selena is back and a whole new game is about to start only the Van Helsings have changed the game adding in more contestants, more vampires and a new element to the game. If at all possible the Helsings have manage to become even bigger monsters than they were. The games are on a grander scale and more deadly and this time Selena has a lot more at risk than just her life, Varick is stuck playing the game. Not only are they playing but so are people from both of Selena’s and Varick’s past, however they are not alone this time they have allies and if they want to fight back they are going to need all the help they can get.
I love the new games because it gives me a weird sense to know what to expect and then it totally changes on me. I am looking out for which girls may be a threat or ally, what other challenges the girls will go through and will happen next. Like what else can the Helsings do to make life more miserable for everyone, at some point in this book I even start to feel sorry for the vampires. I was taken surprise by a lot of things in this book including the fact that I started to feel sorry for Mercy but that only lasted a second, I mean really should have known better.
Selena has gone through a lot of challenges in the games but these new games threaten to change who she is. Selena is starting to break, she has this one thing about her a spark and after all that she has been through she is starting to lose that but Selena is a fighter and I hope she will continue to fight to stay true to herself.
This isn’t your typical love story but it has grown into a very touching love story, neither Selena nor Varick realize that they are in love with each other it’s a slow-growing affection that happens because you really get to see people in the situations they have been put in. Varick who couldn’t feel before has now opened up and Selena who has been abused in the past has walls up to protect herself from anymore harm. They manage to lean and grow on each other, it really is a touching story and I love them together.
OMG Jameson is everything, I love his character so much. We get to hear from Jameson this round and the man is a joy to behold. He has made me smile and laugh through out this book and I will have to say that he is my favorite character so far. Jameson has a lightness to him that is a bit contagious and he boosts the people around him. Also I love his fierce loyalty to Varick even after Varick has turned into a vampire he trusts him completely. Through Jameson I was able to get a better look a Varick and who he was before he was a vampire.
If my hunch is right a couple of the big mysteries has been revealed and all of it centers on Selena. One readers finally get to know why Selena smells so good and why she is special. I was shocked but I knew that I shouldn’t have been because it should have been obvious. However a piece of the past was revealed, I think Selena is connected to it and I don’t think Varick realizes it.
Fresh From The Grave has action, mystery, suspense, romance and a plot that you can’t help but be pulled into. Peckham has told and old story with a unique twist that is refreshing. With multiple povs and the anticipation of what will happen next it was hard to put this one down. I can’t wait to read the final book all I know is it’s gonna end bloody because there isn’t any other way it could.

4-stars

 

 

Leave a comment