Book Review

They Want A Valentine

Valentine

Valentine

by Jodi McAlister

Valentine #1

Young Adult | Fantasy | Thriller| Supernatural

Valentine is the first in a smart, witty and page-turning YA series with a paranormal twist for fans of Holly Black and Sarah J. Maas.

Four teenagers – all born on the same Valentine’s Day – begin to disappear. As the bodies mount up, Pearl Linford has to work out what in the supernatural hell is going on, before it happens to her.

Finn Blacklin is the boy with whom Pearl shares a birthday, the boy she has known all her life and disliked every second of it, the boy her subconscious has a totally annoying crush on. Finn is also the Valentine: a Seelie fairy changeling swapped for a human boy at birth. The Unseelie have come to kill the Valentine – except they don’t know who it is. And now both the Seelie and the Unseelie think Pearl is the Valentine, and if they find out she isn’t, she’ll disappear too.

Pearl must use all her wits to protect herself. Finn must come to terms with his newfound heritage. And then there’s the explosive chemistry between them that neither of them know quite what to do about . . .

Goodreads

A couple of years ago when I was on the hunt for a new book on the fae I discovered Valentine by Jodi McAlister. I finally got the book and I am so happy I did because this fae book did not disappoint, I loved it so much.

The story is about the Valentines, the four children all born on the same Valentines day. These children grew-up together, went to school together and hung-out in pretty much the same social circles. Then in their junior year of high school things get … intense. Weird things start to happen to the valentines, black cats and other creatures appear out of nowhere and people go missing. You see the Seelie want their changeling back and the Unseelie wants it dead, so natural bodies start to drop. Pearl Linford is one of these Valentines and she has to team-up with another Valentine, her nemesis, Finn Blacklin in order to survive what is to come.

Pearl is like no character I have ever read, the story is told from her pov and it was hilarious at times. Pearl is not the best of people, she is good to her friends, a good student and an overall okay person, but she also has this incredible mean streak in her, has a slightly foul mouth and some of her commentary throughout this book was really good. She is full of contradictions and it kinda hard to describe her. She is feisty, smart and brave but she is also a little mean, will through certain people to the wolves and a liar. Don’t get me wrong she is an interesting character to read and I like her but it took a little getting use to her personality.

Plus the relationship between her Finn is lets just say the status is complicated. I love them together, they are messy drama and I love it. Pearl doesn’t want to like Finn, Finn calls Pearl on all her crap, they are trying to figure what the hell is happening and still manage to get under each others skin. They work well together and they will need all the help they can get.

This story is crazy and it’s good plus all the pop culture references were really cool. Valentine is a thriller but with the fae. Pearl has to figure out what happened to her friends, figure out who the bad guys are, keep herself alive and all while combating sudden feelings for Finn. Weird things kept happening and I loved trying to figure what was going to happen next, who was gonna get “got” next and trying to puzzle the mysterious background information given about Pearl’s home-life.

Jodi had dropped so many questions in my lap in Valentines and I have so many unanswered questions.  I think she left a few bread crumbs to because I have a theory about Pearl and I need to know if I am right. Certain things don’t add up when it comes to Pearl, plus Pearl had asked a major question that got answered and then there was the scene towards the end of the book where an old man stated something and it just proves my theory even more.

Valentine was a wild ride that kept me on the edge with the fae, evil minions (because with the fae there are no good guys), weird creatures, wicked plots, so much emotional turmoil and a few laughs, that I couldn’t help but enjoy this book. It may have taken me a little bit to immerse myself in the story but once I did I thoroughly enjoyed it. The story end on what I call a pretty cliffhanger. That means the story ended nicely for now but you know that there is no way in hell that this story is over. The fae are plotting and Pearl is going to have to figure out what to do when they show their hand and I can’t wait. I will be purchasing the next book in the series, Ironheart is gonna be good.

 

4-stars

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “They Want A Valentine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s