Book Review

ACOMAF… OMG The Feelings!

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury

by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses #2

Mature YA, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Goodreads

Hell yeah!

This book… there is no way I can properly express how I feel about this book. I really wish that I was a better writer so I can convey how much I truly loved this book, so this review is going to be short and sweet.

I read the first book in the series, A Court of Thorns and Roses, I loved it so much and made the huge mistake of searching social media platforms about the book and got spoilers for A Court of Mist and Fury (believe me, I was very upset over this) so I thought I knew what to expect from A Court of Mist and Fury but I could not have been more wrong. Sarah took the story in a direction I didn’t see coming and there was a darkness and an address of social issues I didn’t see coming. There are examples of emotional abuse, domestic violence, anxiety, depression and so much more. However those issues being represented wasn’t the shocker it was the fact that while the world building was fantastic and the action and adventure in the plot was amazing it was the fact that this book, at least for me, was mainly about personal relationships.

I see how the relationship between some of the other courts are. How they do give and take and how they might act towards each other. I was able to see I relationship I first loved deteriorate into something that was monstrous and how if someone care about another person they stick around and don’t let themselves be pushed away when one or both is hurting. The relationship between the Inner Circle is amazing, they have all be through so much but care so much about others and this little group is their family. I loved how they all interact together, are so playful and protective with each other and how easily they accept Feyre into their group, their family.

acomaf q4.1

A Court of Mist and Fury was such a joy to read. I loved every minute of it, the world and the characters but Rhysand, dear lord that man! Rhysand (oh baby bat!) was not truly prepared for him. This is a slow burning romance, this are difficult because both people went through something so devastating and are so broken that they actually need time to rebuild themselves and to build their relationship. Rhysand has gone through so much but he is there for everyone including Feyre. He is so understanding, selfless and caring that I want to cry for all the things he has endured.

Feyre had a lot of work ahead of her, she had to pick herself up after the events at the beginning of the book and she was weak both physical and mentally but after spending time with people who care about her and building herself back she has become a total-badass and I love it. The romance between Feyre and Rhysand was everything and I enjoyed seeing them progress.

Court of Mist and Fury just proves that Sarah J. Maas can do no wrong when it comes to writing about the fae. I have read plenty of books about the fae and my favorites have to be the books by Holly Black and now Sarah. It took me a week to read this book and I do have a book-hangover that I now have to over come but I am so excited to see where the rest of the story goes but also nervous because A Court of Wings and Ruin is sure to destroy my heart and I can’t wait.

 

5 stars

 

 

Leave a comment