Book Review

Ballerinas Behaving Badly

Tiny Pretty Things

Tiny Pretty Things

by Sona Charaipotra & Dhonielle Clayton

Young Adult series (book #1)

Contemporary

Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

Goodreads

Tiny Pretty Things is Pretty Little Liars at a ballet boarding school so of course I loved it. I loved the television series Pretty Little Liars and every since I was a little girl I have loved ballet. I use to watch ballet on tv (and the cartoon version of the Nutcracker) every holiday season when I was growing up. I also use to bound around on the balls of my feet, dancing pretending to be a ballerina. As I have gotten older it’s faded with exception of the American West Ballet Company reality series that aired some years ago (the series was good) but Tiny Pretty Things called to me.
The plot was so damn fascinating, I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen next, trying to figure out who did what, waiting to see if my predictions would come true (I so knew it was him). The characters were also complex and interesting.
These girls are evil, I mean hell spawn evil. The nasty things they think and say about each other is horrible and shit they do to each other is unbelievable. I couldn’t believe the stuff in this book the only bright light was Gigi, lovable little Gigi, she was my favorite. She deserves her spot at the school but doesn’t belong with all of these evil people. These people plot and take serious actions that have dire consequences for those who they are focused on.
The story is told from three perspectives, one is Gigi (my fav), June (ugh!) and then there is Bette (who I kept calling Bet for some reason). There is always a villain of a story and for this book it was Bette. Bitch is pure evil, I do blame her parents for a big part of how messed up she actually is and because of this, at times I couldn’t help but feel a little sorry for her then she has to go and do, say or think something and I was like nope hell spawn. June is the third narrator I can’t help but find her a little bit pathetic and there’s a lot more but don’t want to spoil anything.
The girls aren’t the only ones that I have feelings about. Will is a little flamboyant, charismatic and seems like he would be a great friend but is very and easily corruptible. Alec is the main male lead and I am on the fence about him, sometimes I think he is a good guy but other times I feel he just let things happen, he doesn’t act. Then there is Henri… he is mysterious and shady as hell, I have a bad feeling about him.
Tiny Pretty Things is an interesting story that I was compelled to read and has complex characters that I love and hate and sometime lote (love and hate at the same time). With little ballerinas plotting to take down the competition and doing unconscionable things I couldn’t help but dig into this one and with the shocking ending I can’t wait to get all the Shiny Broken Pieces.
Tiny Pretty Things Q1
Graphic from Epic Reads
Leave a Reply

