Book Review

Be Careful of Those Who Lurk

In the Shadows

In the Shadows

by Kiersten White & Jim Di Bartolo

Young Adult, standalone

Mystery/Paranormal/Thriller

From the remarkable imagination of acclaimed artist Jim Di Bartolo and the exquisite pen of bestselling author Kiersten White comes a spellbinding story of love, mystery, and dark conspiracy, told in an alternating narrative of words and pictures.

Cora and Minnie are sisters living in a small, stifling town where strange and mysterious things occur. Their mother runs the local boarding house. Their father is gone. The woman up the hill may or may not be a witch.

Thomas and Charles are brothers who’ve been exiled to the boarding house so Thomas can tame his ways and Charles can fight an illness that is killing him with increasing speed. Their family history is one of sorrow and guilt. They think they can escape from it . . . but they can’t

Goodreads

I had no clue what this book was really about but I knew I had to have it. There are two authors one is Kiersten White, an author I have never read but heard good things about and Jim Di Bartolo who is an amazing artist that I did know about and husband of an author (Laini Taylor) that I love.
I’m really glad I took a chance on it because In the Shadows was a really good book and perfect for the summer time. This was not what I expected, this story is told in a duo-timeline. The words are in the past while the illustrations are telling the future of that past, trippy I know, and I didn’t figure that out until I was a little more than half-way finished. The illustrations are beautiful and they do tell a story if you pay attention to them, it’s almost like a really good comic with out the words but a lot better, the reader has to figure out whats going on in the picture and that was a refreshing aspect of storytelling.
As for the plot itself, it was really good because when you first read it you don’t really have a clue to what was going on. All you know was that strange things were happening and it was a great mysterious summertime adventure. The characters are really good and well-rounded while and you couldn’t help but invest emotionally in them. I am not going to go into more detail than this because I think it was better with me going in kinda clueless and I wouldn’t want to ruin that for another reader. Also note this is not a middle grade book, this book is a young adult novel.
This book was such a good read and I am glad that I picked it up and if you like conspiracies wrapped in mystery, adventure, action, evil plots, a little twist and a danger pick up In the Shadows.
Overall ⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

 

Leave a Reply

