Book Review

The Eyes Have It

The Conspiracy of Us

The Conspiracy of Us

by Maggie Hall

Young Adult Series

Myster/Thriller

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.

For the Conspiracy of Us being Maggie’s first book she did an amazing job, hell she did an amazing job even if it wasn’t her first book. I was so wrapped up in this book, I generally don’t go for thrillers but I could not wait to continue read the story to see what happens next.
There was so much action in this and everything tied together so well that the story flowed effortlessly. Avery is a smart girl who has some issues, I mean who doesn’t but those issue sweep her into a world of the elite. With glittering dress, fabulous parties and travel to Paris and Istanbul Avery gets caught up in the middle of a crazy plot.
Avery is what I love most about this book. She is just your average girl (no special powers) who uses her quick wits to get out of situations and doesn’t wait for the boys to figure out the situation. She has some family issues that cause her brain to malfunction when it comes to making one big decision and that is how this whole thing began. I mean I don’t agree with some of her decisions even though I can see why she would make that choice, she is flawed, human and she makes mistakes but she realize her mistakes and tries not to get caught-up in the same traps.
Lets talk about the boys. There is loveable Jack and shady Stellan, so basically it’s the quintessential good guy bad boy troupe. I don’t have a preference, sometimes I go for the bad boy while other times I go for the good guy character, it’s how the characters show themselves that I like. I will admit to leaning more towards the bad boy but this time for sure I pick the good guy hands down, I love Jack.
Don’t let the synopsis fool you. I love a good love triangle like a of but this is really a triangle, Avery knows who she wants and she goes and get him which is a nice change-up for Maggie to make. The characters are really well written and I can’t wait to see who else Maggie introduces to her world.
The Conspiracy of Us was perfectly written and has a stunning story line with travel to far off lands, prophecies, danger, was rich in history, romance, glitz and glam and a whole love of mystery. After all the dramatic events and the cliffhanger ending in this book had I can’t wait to read the next book, Map of Fates.
Overall ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
TCoU Q1
Graphic from Internet
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s