Book Review

It’s All Just A Dream

Dream A Little Dream

Dream A Little Dream

by Kerstin Gier

Young Adult Series (book #1)

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….

I’ve had an interest in dreams since I was little and I have always wished that I could have vivid and lucid dreams. I always thought and still do to this day that I could control my dreams, I mean how awesome would that be, to control your dreams. Well Gier took Dream a Little Dream to a whole new level. I don’t want to giveaway to much but if you have seen the USA network television series Falling Water then this book is a lot like that, only Gier thought of it years before the TV series.

Olivia “Liv” Silver is the protagonist and she maybe pretty but she wears glasses big o’ nerdy glasses, is clumsy and doesn’t have a sense of direction. Liv is a character that seems closer to a real person, she doesn’t believe in the plot of the story the guys tell her things and she just refuses to believe in the supernatural, saying that there has to be a reasonable answer. She makes fun of things have trouble saying what she is feeling and is a little bit surprised that she like a boy and she is a little shy about it. Liv is also funny, brave, smart, snarky and she can handle herself.

As for the four boys (quartet of hot boys), they could use a little more of a deep dive into their characters. From what I can tell so far, Grayson you can sort of tell he is the decent guy who tries to do good, Arthur I don’t even know what his type is besides love-struk, Jasper who is a girl-loving party boy and last but not least is Henry adorable but mysterious.

While the writing was a little off for me, but I think that the reason for that was because this book was originally written in German and it translated a little funny. Also for a good chunk of the book nothing really seemed to happen and so much could have, I mean we are talking about dreams here. However the plot didn’t go how I had expected, I mean WTH! I didn’t think that the boys were up to that and then the two plot twist that took the book to a new level.

Dream a Little Dream was an interest look into dreams and how people connect. There was dreams, love, danger, mystery, action, romance, and a plot from Hell. I will be reading the next book in the series Dream On, as the ending stated “It’s only just begun”.

Overall ⭐⭐⭐⭐
2 thoughts on “It’s All Just A Dream

    1. Thanks so much! I will be getting the second book soon but I don’t know when I will be able to read it, I have an out of control TBR but when I do read it I will post the review.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

