Book Review

A Vampire You Can Take Home To Meet The Family

Velvet

Velvet (Velvet #1) by Temple West
First rule of dealing with hot vampire bodyguards? Don’t fall in love.

After losing both her parents before age seventeen, aspiring designer Caitlin Holte feels like her whole world has been turned upside down, and that was before the terrifying encounter with a supernatural force. Then, she learns that her hot bad-boy neighbor, Adrian—who might have just saved her life—is actually a half-demon vampire.

Suddenly Caitlin is stuck with a vampire bodyguard who feels that the best way to protect her is to become her pretend boyfriend. Trouble is, Caitlin is starting to fall in love for real, while Adrian can never love a human. Caitlin trusts Adrian to keep her safe from his demon father, but will he be able to protect her heart?

Goodreads

I read Velvet one year ago and immediately following this is my initial review. Since Cashmere was recently released and I plan on reading it soon I decided to do a reread and my opinion has changed, so below that review is a couple of notes about my feelings after the reread.

Velvet was good! The book starts off with Caitlin moving to upstate New York to live with her Aunt and Uncle, whom she has never met, after her mom dies. There she meet Adrian, a vampire, and from there things cease to be normal as Caitlin enters the supernatural world.

What I Like:
In the earlier parts of this book I read Harry Potter and Star Wars references and Temple had me for sure, I loved it because I am such a nerd and we need to be represented. Caitlin and Adrian are the main characters and the banter between them is flawless and I think that they complement each other very well. Temple did such a good job with them, Caitlin didn’t fall for Adrian right-away, she got to know him before she fell in love. Caitlin wasn’t like “woo brooding hot vampire guy” and instantly fell in love she got to really know him. Caitlin just lost her mother and she is sad, angry and grieving and I feel that her attitude is closer to realism than it would be in other novels. As for Adrian, love him. Adrian is smart, kind and funny. He doesn’t really remind you of a vampire, I have my opinion on why but I don’t want to spoil it. Another reason why you should read Velvet is because the whole vampire lore is unique in and you will love this new twist on vampires.

What I Didn’t Like:
I really wished that Temple did a better job of describing Caitlin, I still don’t have a clear picture of her in my head and I wish the world building was a little bit better.

Overall:
Velvet was a wonderful story, the characters are fantastic and I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book “Cashmere“.

Notes: Reading Velvet the second time around my feelings has slightly changed. I absolutely love this book. It was so much better the second time around. It’s not your typical vampire book, there’s science, snark, nerd moments and the conversations between Caitlin and Adrian are the best. I love how they are with each other and the snarky comments and funny adorable moments together help make this book great. 

Overall ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
velvet quote

Graphic from Temple West

Save

Leave a Reply

