Book Review

Long Hair Don’t Care

Cress

Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Goodreads

Cress is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles. The series is a fairytale retelling with each book introduces/focus on a new character while the other (fairytale) characters are still in the much larger story that the series tells. Cress is a Rapunzel retelling and has all of the basic things that make it Rapunzel, including a girl with very long hair locked away by an evil witch (at that’s what I call Sybil).

Cress is the name of the main character which we had met in the previous books. Cinder hasn’t forgotten about her and now it’s time to go get her but the rescue turns into a shit-show and everything that could go wrong does go wrong. I like Cress, she could be a little annoying but that happens when you haven’t been around any people but Sybil. As I learned in the previous books Cress is an excellent hacker, she sings and performs to entertain herself, and she is a semi-happy (held captive remember), kind person. She didn’t let her situation rule her although I do think that she fell a little hard for Thorne (she loved him before she met him). She also strong, she pushes herself and thinks of others.

Cinder and crew makes it back to earth (not without problems) and team up with Dr. Erland in Africa. After all that Cinder has been through she still trudging along, she is still trying to lead this group, hold them together so that they can stop Queen Levana. Cinder is trying her best and takes a lot onto her shoulders. She is so determined to try to stop Levana and doesn’t hide from things when stuff gets hard, she pulls on her big girl pants and gets shit done.

Can I say that Throne is still my favorite in this series. He is caring, silly and a really good person even though he doesn’t seem to think so. I really liked the friendship that him and Cinder has formed. Right off the bat he didn’t treat her as if she was cyborg (someone beneath him) or think about the fact that she was in prison (but then again he was too). Thorne treated Cinder as a person and he has never wavered in that and I love it.

I am going to admit that I was weary of the series, I know what I like and I mostly know what books aren’t going to be for me. I knew the Lunar Chronicles was ify but I decided to try it as and audio book, now I still say that if I read the books I wouldn’t have liked the series but with the audio books I have to say that it’s a decent series. I know I am not the norm when it comes to this series but hay it is what it is. I will be listing to the final book in the series Winter, it’s Snow White’s turn.

Overall 3.75 stars
Leave a Reply

