Book Review

Finally, The Assassin

crown-of-midnight

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas and I though it was phenomenal. I cannot write a review that would do this book any just so I am just going to babble, so bare with me.

Celaena is such a major badass. She had such horrible darkness in her life and she has a darkness in herself but she tries to make life worth living, she feels everything and finds joy in simple things. I love that she is a big time reader that she can kick any man’s ass and eat them under the table too but most of all I love how fierce she is for the people she cares about. In Throne of Glass we didn’t really see the assassin in Celaena, we saw her as a girl, as a friend, as a possible love interest, a fighter in a competition and fight for her life but we didn’t see the assassin she was suppose to be. However in Crown of Midnight we finally get to see how truly deadly Celaena is, we get the assassin.

The plot and the writing was perfect, I totally got sucked in and was on the edge of my seat for a lot of scenes. I felt everything so deeply and got even more invested in the characters, which I didn’t think was possible. I have seen spoilers by searching the internet about this series and even though I know some things it doesn’t ruin the experience for me. I cannot tell you how happy I am that Sarah has written this story and how even happier I am that I have found it.

Overall 5 stars

Crown of Midnight had badass girls and evil kings, excellent writing and plot twists, romance and heartbreak, evil plots and great journeys and don’t forget monsters and magic. I am in love with this series, I had requested the rest of the series for Christmas presents (I received one, Queen of Shadows) and my birthday (which I know I will receive two prequel and Heir of Fire). I can’t wait to read the rest of this series and I can already tell you that I don’t want it to end. I implore you to get this series and you will not be sorry you did.

Leave a Reply

