Book Review

Revenge Is A Dish Best Served Cold

Cold Fury.png

It has been a pretty busy time with the holidays, traveling and family. Because of schedules my family had to celebrate Christmas and New Years all on New Years day and I have to admit that I forgot to post this review. Cold Fury is actually the last book I read in 2016 but I promise the next book I post will be a book I have read this year.

 

Cold Fury (Cold Fury #1) by T.M. Goeglein

Sara Jane Rispoli is a normal sixteen-year-old coping with school and a budding romance–until her parents and brother are kidnapped and she discovers her family is deeply embedded in the Chicago Outfit (aka the mob).

Now on the run from a masked assassin, rogue cops and her turncoat uncle, Sara Jane is chased and attacked at every turn, fighting back with cold fury as she searches for her family. It’s a quest that takes her through concealed doors and forgotten speakeasies–a city hiding in plain sight. Though armed with a .45 and 96K in cash, an old tattered notebook might be her best defense–hidden in its pages the secret to “ultimate power.” It’s why she’s being pursued, why her family was taken, and could be the key to saving all of their lives.

Cold Fury was not what I had expected. When I read the synopsis (teenage girl dealing with the mob) I thought this was going to be totally excellent, it sounded like something I would like to read. However I couldn’t really get into this book how I normally would dive into the world of a book. When I normally read, I would be submersed in the book’s world and I couldn’t even tell I was reading but Cold Fury was the exact opposite for me, I felt as if I was reading a book and not experiencing the story but just going along.

Overall 3 stars

This book could have been really good but it had some flaws. There were way to many flashbacks to explain things and in so much detail as well. I couldn’t connect to Jane and it’s not because she is an unrealistic character, I mean I read fantasy stories, it was how she was written, something was off and I couldn’t connect. However the story was an interesting one and there were a few twist that I really enjoyed. I will be continuing the story because one I already have the second book and two I am interested in knowing what happens.

Leave a Reply

