Book Review

I’m A Geek for Greek(Mythology)

antigoddess

Old Gods never die…

Or so Athena thought. But then the feathers started sprouting beneath her skin, invading her lungs like a strange cancer, and Hermes showed up with a fever eating away his flesh. So much for living a quiet eternity in perpetual health.

Desperately seeking the cause of their slow, miserable deaths, Athena and Hermes travel the world, gathering allies and discovering enemies both new and old. Their search leads them to Cassandra—an ordinary girl who was once an extraordinary prophetess, protected and loved by a god.

These days, Cassandra doesn’t involve herself in the business of gods—in fact, she doesn’t even know they exist. But she could be the key in a war that is only just beginning.

Because Hera, the queen of the gods, has aligned herself with other of the ancient Olympians, who are killing off rivals in an attempt to prolong their own lives. But these anti-gods have become corrupted in their desperation to survive, horrific caricatures of their former glory. Athena will need every advantage she can get, because immortals don’t just flicker out.

Every one of them dies in their own way. Some choke on feathers. Others become monsters. All of them rage against their last breath.

The Goddess War is about to begin.

Antigoddess (Goddess War #1) by Kendare Blake

This was the first book I have read by Kendare Blake, I have heard plenty of praise for her writing but never read anything by her. Then one day I was on Book Outlet’s website (just one sources of my book buying problem) and they had Antigoddess and it was during a promotion time. I read the synopsis and I knew I had to get it.

Antigoddess is the first book in the Goddess War series by Kendare Blake and that’s right you guessed it, it’s about gods. I love all types of mythology, I mean I’ve been a geek about this stuff since I was a child (weird I know) and this series is about gods set in modern time who are dying, desperate and about to go to war with each other.

Most of the gods are teenagers, dress in modern cloths and could blend in a little better than they use to. However they are still kind of screwed up, they are selfish, pigheaded, cruel at times and a big old dysfunctional family. When your dying and family is out to get you where do you turn, to an old enemy of course. Athena (goddess of victory) and Hermes (messenger god) need help they turn to Cassandra who believes she is a ordinary girl who’s not so ordinary.

Athena is everything I thought she would be and nothing like I thought she would be. Athena was strong, stubborn, and intelligent but she was also more human than I thought. She cares but she still does the dirty stuff so no one else has to do it. She comes off cool (emotionally) but she is just like everyone else she has doubts, fears and she loves. She feels responsible for everyone and everything that happens, she is her strongest critic and most don’t see that. There is a love interest there and I hope it makes it, because I ship them together.

Then there is Hermes who is more human than almost any god I seen in this book. He is a smart-ass, playful, funny and there is something about him that makes you like him. It could be his honesty in times when you don’t think he would be or the way he says by Athena’s side.

I really enjoyed this book, I knew I would. The writing was good and the plot was fascinating, seeing the gods in modern-times, acting closer to humans than I believe they would. Seeing the family dynamic between the gods was interesting. Although I would have to say that some of my favorite parts were with Cassandra and her group. The thing is this damn book caught me off guard, I was balling at the end of it. I was unprepared for the events at the end of the book, I didn’t expect to feel that way about the characters and some of my questions are still unanswered.

Overall 4.5 stars

Antigoddess was a modern-day mythological tale. It had action, mystery, fighting, gods, lots of deaths, evil plots, mythological creatures, romance and family drama. I can’t wait to read the next book Mortal Gods, hopefully some of my questions will be answered and I can’t wait to see what new gods and mythological creatures pop-up next.

Leave a Reply

