Book Review

Let It All End With A Kiss

winners-kiss

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Some kisses come at a price.

War has begun. Arin is in the thick of it with untrustworthy new allies and the empire as his enemy. Though he has convinced himself that he no longer loves Kestrel, Arin hasn’t forgotten her, or how she became exactly the kind of person he has always despised. She cared more for the empire than she did for the lives of innocent people—and certainly more than she did for him.

At least, that’s what he thinks.

In the frozen north, Kestrel is a prisoner in a brutal work camp. As she searches desperately for a way to escape, she wishes Arin could know what she sacrificed for him. She wishes she could make the empire pay for what they’ve done to her.

But no one gets what they want just by wishing.

As the war intensifies, both Kestrel and Arin discover that the world is changing. The East is pitted against the West, and they are caught in between. With so much to lose, can anybody really win?

This series is everything….

The Winner’s Kiss is the final book in the trilogy and it met every expectation I had about it and more. I can’t say anything bad about this book or the series. Marie’s writing is incredible, the wonderful way she can weave a story and how the images come to life. The way Marie has created her characters there is now way around it I had strong feelings about most of the characters. Some of the characters I liked and I feel in love with them, other characters I loved to hate and then there are the characters that cause conflicting feelings. Of course I love Kestrel with her strong, cunning mind and Arin with his loyalty and determination, however Roshar is one of my favorite characters. Roshar doesn’t really let anyone see him but he is loud, funny and a good friend.

I love how this series pulled me in and didn’t want to let me go. I was disappointed when I had to pause the story and so excited every time I was about to begin it. There were parts that was character driven and others parts that had so much action I was siting at the end of my seat. The ending was killing me, the back and forth between Kestrel’s scenes and Arin’s scenes was building so much pressure. I won’t give away the ending but will say that I am very pleased with this book, there is absolutely nothing bad I can say about this book or the series.

Overall 5 stars

The Winner’s Kiss had excellent writing, amazing characters, strategy, deep personal connections, covert missions, action, love, political intrigue, friendship and more. I look forward to more from Marie Rutkoski.

3 thoughts on “Let It All End With A Kiss

Leave a Reply

