Book Review

A Winter Storm is Coming, It’s Time For Shakespeare’s the Tempest

book1

Tempestuous by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes

A winter storm is about to hit the area I live and since the Tempest takes place during a big storm this would be a perfect fit right. Okay truth is that I had picked this book to read well before I knew a storm was coming but what good timing do I have. I also have to say that yes I think snow is pretty but I hate it with a fiery passion. It’s cold, wet, causes delays on book deliveries and so on. Anyway, now to the book.

Recently banished, unfairly, by the school’s popular crowd, former “it girl,” Miranda Prospero, finds herself in a brave new world: holding dominion amongst a rag-tag crew of geeks and misfits where she works at the Hot-Dog Kabob in the food court of her local mall. When the worst winter storm of the season causes mall workers and last-minute shoppers to be snowed-in for the night, Miranda seizes the opportunity to get revenge against the catty clique behind her social exile. With help from her delightfully dweeby coworker, Ariel, and a sullen loner named Caleb who works at the mall’s nearby gaming and magic shop, Miranda uses charm and trickery to set things to right during this spirited take on Shakespeare’s The Tempest.

Tempestuous is a remake of Shakespeare’s the Tempest and it was really good. I have read some of Shakespeare’s other plays and I have read some of the retellings of his plays. I actual like Shakespeare and I think the man was excellent and well ahead of his time. Now I don’t like him in the traditional sense with his original words, I had to read the versions with the writing that is more suitable to this time (not retellings just deciphered).

The retellings however are a little hit or miss for me. Take for example Any One But You by Kim Askew and Amy Helems (that’s right the same authors of this book), I didn’t care for their version of the retelling of Romeo and Juliet. The idea was nice and I enjoyed the original play but I didn’t care for their retelling but with Tempestuous I loved it. I never read the play but it was a Shakespeare retelling and it was cheap so I grabbed it when I saw it. Now even though I never read the play I have seen a television series where the plot was for a short time, based of the Tempest. I also have read a retelling of the Tempest, it was Tempestuous by Lesley Livingston. This book is the third in the Wondrous Strange series by Lesley, the series is based off of some of Shakespeare’s work, has his characters and is a must read. Any way as you can guess the last book is based off of the Tempest and I loved it.

I loved Tempestuous Kim and Amy did a really good job. It’s loosely based on Shakespeare but I still get the whole idea of the play and the writing, plot and characters were done nicely. Now it wouldn’t be Tempestuous without the storm of the century bearing down on our characters and with Prospero stilling being Prospero major high-jinks are sure to ensue.

Overall 4 stars

Tempestuous had action, romance, thefts, make-ups and break-ups, war, wheeling and dealing, attempt of murder, schemes, war of the words, it was hilarious at times and it was the type of magical night that only happens once in a lifetime, if your lucky. Even if you don’t like Shakespeare you should pick this one up. I love this book for the bunny scene alone and if you want to know what I mean, get the book.

Save

Leave a Reply

